PSP Go! disappointments

Posted: 2009/06/06 in Random Rants
Tags: , , , , ,

E3 2009 has gone by and somehow I am not surprised but disappointed on Sony. It’s about my previous post, I am half wrong and half right. Wrong because Sony will be releasing a new hardware, dubbed “PSP Go!”, right because it isn’t a new PSP.

Somehow, a PSP fan like me should be excited, but no I am not. It’s an utter dissapointment. They say it’s a new PSP, but for me, its still the same. No upgrade on capabilities, no new control scheme (no second analog stick or no touch interface or motion sensor), same resolution and same games. *sigh*.

What do we get?
– a slimmer form factor that can be very uncomfortable when you’re actually playing with it.
– a very unreliable sliding mechanism
– a smaller display size
– no UMD that means saying goodbye to your UMD game library
– harder to reach shoulder buttons
– and a heftier price tag ($250)

The PSP Go also has some redeeming factor
– the slimmer form factor can make more portable so you can slide it in your pocket
– lighter
– has bluetooth interface (hopefully you can connect your bluetooth headphones to it)
– 16GB of flash for more storage plus a Memory stick,
All these can improve its stature as a better music / video player. *sigh*.

When the rumor of the PSP Go was confirmed, I planned to buy one because of its portability, but seeing the specs, I’ll just keep my old PSP2000 and buy a decent music/video player, maybe an iPod Touch.

It’s really quite depressing that something that you’ve waited for months was quite a dissappointment. I am just wishing that the Microsoft’s Zune HD is also a gaming console. On another note, Blizzcon is nearing and hopefully I won’t be disappointed that they will announce the release of StarCraft2 there.

Comments
  1. rayanami says:

    Well, it is sony so be prepared for more disappointment. LOL.

Leave a comment